Be Thankful Challenge

 

I am excited to have been invited to take part in this Thanksgiving challenge!

Five People I am Thankful for: 

  1. Jesus Christ- He was both God and Man, so surely He qualifies as “people.”  All that I am and all that I have is because of Him and there are no words to thank Him for His sacrifice and His love.
  2. My Father-My dad was the hardest working man I ever knew.  He had me late in life, so when he passed away in 2008 he was 92 years old.  Growing up during the Great Depression meant that he had to quit school at a young age and help support his family.  He had such a hard life, yet you would never know that by the perpetual smile on his face.
  3. My Mother-My mother found joy in the simple things.  More than anything in life she loved being a wife and mother.  She was at every school play and function I was ever in, even if it meant having to walk miles to get there.  She taught me the true meaning of being a mom.
  4. Eric-My son.  I have raised him alone for a good portion of his life so we are very close.  He is 22 years old and has overcome so many challenges in his short life.  I am so very proud of the young man he has become.  He is my greatest earthly blessing.
  5. Emmett- My ex-husband, and ironically enough, my best friend.  He has been a part of my life for 32 years and I thank God everyday for him.  He is one of the most compassionate, charitable people I know and I am a better person because of his presence in my life.

Five Things I am Thankful for in 2015:

  1. My mother passed away on February 20th.  I am so thankful to God that I was able to be by her side, holding her hand, during her last hours on earth.  I am thankful that I was with her as she took her last breath and was able to comfort her as she passed from this life to the next.
  2. I am thankful for my church family.  My relationship with God is a continuous journey and I have traveled farther down that path since becoming a member of this church than I ever have.  I am grateful to be surrounded by such faith-filled, giving brothers and sisters in Christ.
  3. As much as I dislike what I do for a living, I am thankful for my job.  It’s a good job and I am compensated well.  My job allows me to live in a safe, comfortable apartment and provide for my son.  We may not have everything we want, but we certainly have more than we need.
  4. I am thankful to God for giving me the motivation this year to finally join a gym AND actually go! I have always had zero ambition to exercise.  After having multiple surgeries over the years and being told by a doctor that another knee surgery could be in my future, I am thankful for God’s intervention in helping me to get strong.
  5. I am thankful to be writing again.  My three passions in life are my relationship with God, being a mom and writing. I had not written anything of substance in over eight years and I am grateful to once again be a writer.

Bloggers I invite to the Be Thankful Challenge:

  1.   Sue’s Simple Snippets
  2.   Ricardo James Johnson

Have a Blessed Thanksgiving!

 

 

Leave a Reply

