My Prayers for 2016

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” ~Ephesians 3:20 (NLT)

 

While I have never been a big fan of New Year’s Eve, I have always loved the anticipation that comes from starting a new year. It is a time to reflect on the year that has passed and revive old dreams or set new goals for the year ahead. I have made, and broken, many New Year’s Resolutions in my life, so I prefer to no longer label them as such. My view of a resolution places the burden of fulfillment on me, which is probably why I fail so miserably at keeping them. I prefer to call these my “Prayers for 2016.” God knows what’s best for me and will answer my prayers according to His will, in a manner far greater than I could even imagine. Prayer takes the burden to “perform” off of me, and simply places my trust in God that He will do for me, in the new year, what I could never do for myself.

1. Dear Lord, please help me to become an early riser, a morning person. Your Word is filled with followers who were early risers. Abraham, Moses, Joshua, Samuel, David, Jacob and Job are just a few. Most importantly, you too, Jesus, were an early riser. Mark 1:35 (NLT) Help me to emulate you and your faithful followers by rising early to spend time alone with you and begin my day with a fresh filling of your peace.

2. Father God, please help me to nourish my body with the whole, healthy foods that you have provided. Genesis 1:29 (NLT) Not only is my body the temple of your precious Holy Spirit but it is also the vessel you have given me to serve your people. Help me to make healthy choices for my body, one meal at a time, in the days ahead.

3. Heavenly Father, please help me to be more aware of the words that come out of my mouth. You have blessed me with a joyful heart; however, at times I speak words that are negative and judgmental. Please help me to always be aware of the power of my words, so that every word that leaves my mouth edifies and encourages those around me and brings honor to You. Psalm 19:14 (NLT)

4. Gracious God, please help me to more fully absorb the truth of Your Word. Give me a mind capable of memorizing Scripture so that I am armed at all times with the “sword of the Spirit.” Ephesians 6:10-18 (NLT) I also pray for abundant opportunities to use your Word to minister to other believers and to introduce the lost to You.

 

5. Father God, I thank you for bringing me to my wonderful church. I thank you for a pastor who speaks your truth and for fellow believers who uplift and encourage me on my walk with You. I ask you, Lord, to move me to be more consistent in my attendance at Sunday celebration, so that I can be blessed and be a blessing to this fellowship. Hebrews 10:25 (NLT)

My prayers for 2016 are deeply rooted in the Word of God and are aligned with His Will. So, while I may not live out each one perfectly, I am confident that if I offer these prayers to God each day, that at this time next year I will be writing to you- healthier in body, mind and spirit than I am right now.

I pray that your resolutions or prayers for the new year are abounding in God’s teachings and that the year ahead bring you closer to our Savior and living the abundant life that He came to give us. John 10:10 (NKJV)

Leave a Reply

