First Things First

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.”

~ John 15:5 (NLT)

 

If I were to write a letter to God this week, it would go something like this:

Dear God,

I’m so sorry that I didn’t spend much time with you this week. I really meant to but there were so many distractions, so many things that drew me in and consumed my time.

I can tell that I wasn’t connected to you this week by the lack of “fruit” in my life. I need you and I ask your forgiveness for placing other things ahead of you this week. My e-mail, Facebook, work, shopping, cleaning… I put all of them before you this week and my spirit is aching for the lost time with you.

I thank you that, despite my inattentiveness to you, you have been with me every moment of every day. I pray for a realignment of my priorities, placing You first on the list, where you deserve to be.

I love you, always.

Your daughter,
Mary

The things we cultivate and water in our lives are the things that grow. There was no worthwhile growth in my life this week, because I was disconnected from the vine.

Devil keep you busyI have been writing this blog for two months now and have not once been at a loss for what to write about. I clearly heard God each week as He spoke to me in our silent moments together and knew exactly what He wanted me to share. This week I struggled because I was not connected to my divine source. If we unplug our computers, they eventually run out of power. It is no different when we “unplug” from God.

Romans 8:38-39 (NLT) tells us that God’s love for us does not waver based on our actions or lack of affection toward Him. I have tremendous gratitude in my heart for that grace; that unmerited, undeserved favor that He showers upon me, despite my sinful human nature. Even when distractions distance me from Him, He never changes and His love never fades.

There is nobody more important than Jesus and nothing is more worthy of my time than Him. Distractions are the work of the enemy, who delights in our inattentiveness to Him. Even though I was not sad this week, I was definitely not filled with the indescribable joy that comes from being connected to my Creator.

God never forces us to spend time with Him. It is a choice that we need to make. I am using this week as a reminder that, without God as my first priority, life does roll on but my spirit is less joyful, my mind is less creative and my strength against the schemes of the enemy is not as powerful. My week was filled with lack in all of these areas, rather than abundance, as God intended. It is my prayer this week, for me and for all who read this post, that we easily recognize the distractions that the enemy places before us and that we remain connected to Jesus…our vine, our source, our Savior.

 

5 thoughts on “First Things First

  1. Ohhhhhh, beloved sister and friend, you know how much I relate to this one! Thanks for the reminder for both of us!!!! This is the very reason is why I deactivate my Facebook account occasionally…..but then the devil throws a million other distractions my way……BUT WE ARE LEARNING TO KNOW OUR ENEMIES TACTICS AND SCHEMES, AMEN???? I’m thankful to receive your blog posts in my email which is much easier for me to manage than the Facebook thing. Lol…..love you sister! ONE DAY CLOSER TO WORSHIPPING WITH YOU AT THE THIRD DAY CONCERT!!!!❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  2. Wonderful post! I really connected to everything you wrote. Anytime I get distant from God, I feel this deep void and emptiness 😦 Distractions are bound to come our way every single day but we must remain plugged to our source of life, as you’ve rightly said.

    God bless you! ❤
    ~M.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

