God Knows Exactly What We Need

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us,
to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.”
~Ephesians 3:20 (NLT)

I’ve spent the last five days at home in bed, battling the flu. Normally, I am not much of a TV watcher, but lying here, hour after hour, there was not much else to do in between naps.

Flu

Image courtesy of Detroit Free Press

Because I don’t regularly watch television, I only have the most basic cable, which consists of about ten channels. There is not much on in the middle of the night, and having only a handful of channels makes finding something entertaining even more of a challenge.

As I was flipping through the channels, I came upon re-runs of the sitcom, “The George Lopez Show.” My mom loved the George Lopez show. Prior to her stroke in 2009, she lived with me and my son, Eric. I always knew when it was 10pm without having to look at the clock, because I would hear the theme song of the show coming from the television downstairs. My mother passed away about a year ago and that song always brings a smile to my face. So much so, that I have made it the ringtone on my cell phone.

The night before my mother passed, last February, my sisters and I were talking about this at the nursing home. We were sitting at her bedside, sharing good memories with our mom as we watched her decline. The next morning, after she passed, I went to my sister’s house. After a brief rest and a meal, I went outside to warm up the car and waited for her to come outside.

I had not personally accepted Christ as my Savior until after my mom had her stroke, so I took every opportunity I could during her five year stay at the nursing home to share with her God’s free gift of salvation. I had been raised in a very religious household and taught about Jesus, but in a very ritualistic way, placing the burden of salvation on my works and behavior, rather than on the finished work of Jesus at the Cross. I spent a good portion of my life in fear that if I wasn’t perfect, I would not go to heaven, and I wanted to make sure my mother knew that Jesus already paid the price for her entry into heaven. Ephesians 2:8-9 (NLT)

The stroke had left my mother without the ability to speak, so she was never able to tell me if she “got it.” As I was sitting alone in the car waiting for my sister, I prayed a simple prayer:

“Father God, I believe in my heart that my mother personally accepted Jesus as her Savior, but since she could not tell me that, please give me a sign to let me know that she has arrived safely in your arms. Blessed are those who mourn for they shall be comforted. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.”

When I got done praying, I turned the radio on. I have six presets on my radio. Four of them are Christian stations and two are stations that my son likes. All four of my Christian stations were complete static so I turned on one of the other classic rock stations. Immediately, “Low Rider”…the George Lopez theme song starting playing!

I would have never changed the station had ANY of the Christian radio stations tuned in. ALL FOUR stations were out and that song was coming on the other station at the exact moment that I lifted my prayer up to the Lord!

As I prayed, I knew that God would answer, but I never expected Him to answer so quickly or in such a distinct way. I had just lost my mother, yet I was grinning ear to ear, clapping and ELATED…filled with JOY at knowing where my mother was!! Only God could do that at a time of such sorrow.

We serve a mighty and merciful God, who does far more for us then we could ever dream of asking.

 

4 thoughts on “God Knows Exactly What We Need

  1. ……makes me smile. I surely love this testimony and I surely love you my sister!❤️I pray Gods healing hand brings you back to complete health soon!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this! The Holy Spirit is with you sharing this story. This didn’t just happen to help you, but to help us, too. This is incredible. All of our prayers are answered and we must remember to thank God for answering each of our prayers. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

