Courage to Change

“This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” ~ Joshua 1:9 (NLT)  

Some people are naturally good at going with the flow. I am definitely not one of those people.  I don’t do well with change and, lately, this personality trait of mine has become quite the hindrance in my life.

The office where I work is merging with another company.  This plan to come together has been in the works for over a year, but I admit that, deep down, I have been in absolute denial.  We are now one month away from combining offices and staff under one roof at a new location.  As reality sets in, denial is no longer a viable option.

computer

Image: Microsoft Office

At the same time, we have been preparing to convert to a new computer system.  The preparation and pre-conversion work has been intense but, ready or not,  the time is close at hand for us to flip the switch.  This is expected to happen four weeks after our relocation and merger.

Yikes!  That’s about all I can say.  For someone with self-proclaimed OCD, one of these experiences is troubling enough.  Both of them happening, and occurring only weeks apart, is downright overwhelming.

Fear of the unknown has overtaken me.  Will my new co-workers like me? How am I going to service my clients until I learn this new system?  Where is my cubicle going to be?

At times, I have had to just exhale and remind myself that no matter what comes my way with all of this, His plans for me are good.  (Jeremiah 29:11 NLT)

When I look back at my insurance career, I can clearly see that every change, good or bad, has led me to the exact place I am today.  I rebelled against many of those changes for long periods of time, but each one, as I see in hindsight, came to pass for His divine purposes in my life.  A career in insurance is not my passion, but it has given me the means to provide for my son for over two decades and I have to say that, where I am in my life right now is a pretty good place to be.   change-cartoon

The first chapter in the Book of Joshua is only 18 verses long and is my current “go to” Scripture every day.  In it, God tells Joshua twice that He will be with him and reassures Joshua that He will not fail or abandon Him.

Three times He commands Joshua to be strong and courageous and an additional time He commands him to be strong and very courageous.  It was not a suggestion, it was God’s command to Joshua, as he was about to take over for Moses in leading the Jewish people to the Promised Land.

That’s quite a bit of encouragement and reassurance packed into just a few short paragraphs!

Because we know that God is the same yesterday, today and forever (Hebrews 13:8 NLT) the commands and promises He gave to Joshua are the same commands and promises He gives to you and I today.  I may never actually embrace all of these changes at work, but knowing that God will remain my cubicle mate,  fills me with hope and courage.

While none of us are charged with the monumental task that Joshua had, God reassures us that there is no reason to ever be afraid or discouraged. There are many “unknowns” in life for all of us and, in those times of uncertainty, we must hold tightly to the truth that God will never fail or abandon us!

He is always faithful to His promises!

 

 

 

One thought on “Courage to Change

  1. Oh this was really beautiful. I admire your honesty in this piece. I don’t like change as well and I can totally relate to this. But I’m glad you’ve encouraged yourself in the Lord. He will see us through these changes and help us adapt to the changes faster than we thought. Stay courageous! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

