Kindness Initiative

“Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.” ~ Ephesians 4:29 NLT

As I mentioned in my last post, my office is in the process of merging with another local insurance agency.  This past Friday, the Social Committee at my current office, sponsored an Employee Appreciation luncheon.  It was our last luncheon together before partnering with our new co-workers and moving into a new building. As part of the event, special “kindness keepsakes” were handed out to each employee.

In the days ahead of the luncheon, each employee who wanted to participate was randomly given the names of three co-workers.  The employee then submitted a kind, encouraging comment about each person they had selected.  All comments were anonymously given and received.

The comments were presented on a laminated keepsake, so the employee can hang it up in their new cubicle or just hold on to it and pull it out when feeling discouraged. I was truly humbled by the comments from three of my co-workers and I know others were deeply encouraged by their thoughts, as well.  Each of those comments meant a great deal to me and I will surely be calling upon them for encouragement in the future.

IMG_0630Since I was in charge of creating the keepsakes, I also saw the comments made about each of my co-workers.  They were all so thoughtful and uplifting and I was immediately glad that I volunteered my time to be a part of this.

As I was preparing the mementos, and typing each of the compliments, I wondered if, had it not been for the “kindness initiative” would any of these comments ever been said? I believe that, yes, some would have been.  Most, however, would have probably gone unsaid, simply due to the busyness of our daily routines.

All it takes is an hour (or less!) in front of the TV or reading a newspaper and it is clear that hate and ugliness abound.  Being an election year makes the mud-slinging even worse.  Unfortunately, that is the world we now live in.  A world where some days you need to look really hard to find the good amid the anger, prejudice and hate that surround us.

This week at work, I was reminded that we should never be too busy to speak a kind word to someone to uplift and encourage them.  Anyone…a co-worker, a family member or even a stranger!  If you cannot find the time to say something nice about a fellow human being, you need to re-think your schedule.  If you cannot find even one nice thing to say about someone, perhaps you need to humble yourself and pray for them.

I challenge you this week, to implement a “kindness initiative” in your own little corner of the world!

Take the time to tell a few people (ones that you normally may not!) how awesome they are or how much they mean to you.  Take it to Facebook and Twitter!  Spread the kindness!  Share the love!

You may never know just how much it may mean to someone.

Leave a Reply

