A Transformed Perspective

“Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”~ Romans 12:2 NLT

One of my friends calls me “his personal ray of sunshine.”  For the most part, that is me…today. I see the glass half full.  I look at the world through rose colored glasses.  When life hands me lemons, I make lemonade!  I was not, however, always so optimistic.

There was a gentleman who I worked with at my last job that had nicknames for all of his co-workers.  None of them were nice.  I was referred to as “The Victim.”  Ouch!  Yeah, he thought I didn’t know, but yes, yes I did.  The unfortunate thing is that the nickname was uncomfortably fitting at the time.

I was a divorced single mom with barely enough money to make ends meet.  My child had Asperger’s Syndrome.  His father (at that time) was absent from our lives.  Waa waa waa!  Why me?  Why does all the bad stuff happen to me?

Fortunately, for me (and everyone around me! 🙂 ) I am not that person today.  I know that bad things happen to everyone, not just me, and that ups and downs are a part of life.

rom-12_2Having a personal relationship with Jesus is about our eternal destination, our salvation, but it is also about the here and now.  Being a Christian does not change the fact that we will go through trials and tribulations.  But, as our relationship in Christ grows, and we are transformed into new people, the way we see life changes.  We trust more and more in God’s sovereignty, and our perception of life is completely altered.

Last weekend, my son, Eric, and I were on our way out of town to attend a Cherry Blossom Festival.  We were about an hour into the trip when we stopped at a rest area on the turnpike.  Eric’s ankle had been bothering him a bit when he woke up that morning, but when he went to get out of the car; he had a hard time putting weight on his ankle.  Since the day ahead including a great deal of walking, he decided it was best if we turned around and went back home.

My immediate thought was that God was protecting us from something.  I don’t know what that something was…a car accident, a mugging, a bee sting…but I know it was something. The fact that I had just driven over 60 miles, only to turn around and go back home, didn’t even, for a moment, put a strain on my good mood.  Of course, I was concerned about Eric, but I was completely peaceful and calm about our unexpected change in plans.  I just “knew that I knew” that there was a divine reason for it.

If anyone in history could have rightfully declared Himself a victim, it was Jesus.  But, that’s not how He saw the situation or Himself.  He willingly laid His life down for us because He completely trusted the Father and His plan.

Changing the way you think isn’t about pretending that you are happy to be going through a tough time. It’s not about seeing the glass half full or half empty.  It’s about knowing and trusting that what’s in the glass, and how much, is in God’s hands and is EXACTLY what you need for today.

 

Leave a Reply

