Knowing God’s Will

“Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.” ~ Romans 12:2 (NLT)

 

My friend Vicki and I have been part of one another’s lives for almost 25 years.  She is family to me.  We can finish each other’s sentences and, almost intuitively, know when something is troubling the other.  While we were instant friends on the day we met, that “heart connection” developed and grew stronger over the years.

Recently, I have written about being obedient to God and accepting His Will, but how does one discern God’s voice from their own voice inside their head?

I believe it is accomplished in the same way that my connection with Vicki has grown… through conversation and time spent together.  If we want to know God’s will in the circumstances of our lives, we must first know God Himself.  Romans 12:2 tells us that to know God’s good and pleasing and perfect will, we must let Him transform our thinking.

I have often told my son, “garbage in, garbage out.”  If you “take in” the things of this world, you will think and act like the world.  If you “take in” the things of God and His Word, you will walk in the Spirit and your mind will be renewed.  You will begin to perceive life through a different lens. Your mind will be transformed.

saintelizabethchurch.org

saintelizabethchurch.org

Years ago, when I first started reading the Bible, I found it very difficult to understand.  Since then, through time spent in prayer and immersed in the Word, I often read a passage or single verse and I instantly get it.  My immediate thought is “It’s so clear!  How didn’t I see that before?”  The answer to that is quite simple.  The more time I spend with God, the more of Himself He reveals to me.

Life can get very messy if we don’t take the time to seek His will before making life decisions.  Looking back at my own life, there are decisions I made based on my desires, not God’s will, which completely changed the trajectory of my life.

The poor choices I have made in my life, based on what I wanted or thought I wanted at the time, have taught me many lessons. In hindsight, I probably knew God’s will to some degree, but didn’t like it, so I chose to do my own thing.  We don’t get a “do-over” in life, so I have done the next best thing, in learning from my mistakes and not making a move, unless it is directed by God.

I trust my friend Vicki with things in my life that I would never share with anyone else.  That level of trust didn’t exist on the first day we met.  It was formed and nurtured over years of shared experiences, conversations and time spent together.

In the same respect, our relationship with God can only grow if we spend time with Him, sharing our innermost thoughts, and meditating on His Word.  Once we begin to know God intimately, His Will becomes clear, and we must then simply pray for strength to follow it, even when it’s not easy.

 

One thought on “Knowing God’s Will

  1. This message is for me. Sigh. I whine about not knowing God’s will a lot of times without actually taking out time to really know Him- as you’ve rightly pointed out. I like the analogy with your friend Vicki, it brings it home. I’ve also got a very close friend and I know the closeness was built overtime. Same strategy applies in our relationships with God. Some of us expect to gain clarity at once, but it’s not so sudden. Thank you for this. I’ll definitely take action points on knowing Him better and knowing His will along the way. God bless you for sharing! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

