My Encounter at the Gym

“Then He said, “Go out, and stand on the mountain before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore into the mountains and broke the rocks in pieces before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind; and after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake; and after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire a still small voice. So it was, when Elijah heard it, that he wrapped his face in his mantle and went out and stood in the entrance of the cave. Suddenly a voice came to him, and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”~ 1 Kings 19:11-13 (NKJV)

The past week has been a rough one for me.  I have experienced sadness, anger, frustration and anxiety; sometimes simultaneously.  The reasons for my tumultuous week are not important, but what I learned from the experience is worth sharing.

Monday was the 4th of July holiday.  I was so upset and miserable that I spent the entire day sleeping, just so I did not have to feel, and thus, deal, with my emotional turmoil.  Tuesday is one of my usual days at the gym, but by the time work was over at 5pm, exercise was the last thing I felt like doing.  Two of my co-workers (and wonderful friends!) convinced me that I should go and they were persuasive enough that I soon found myself working up a sweat.

I have often read about hearing God in the “silence,” but admit that being silent is not one of my strong points.  Seriously, if I had to take a vow of silence like they do in monasteries, I would most likely explode from the backup of words in my head.

crazy website dot com

Image: crazywebsite.com

As I was riding the stationary bike, I closed my eyes and asked God to join me right there, where I was, and to help me gain some clarity and peace about the situation I was dealing with.  I was surrounded by so much noise, yet, at that moment, amid clanking weights and grunting men, I actually heard God in the silence of my heart.

I normally only make it to the gym a few days a week, but I was so deeply moved by the revelation and peace that God was providing that I have gone every day since.   Each time, I gained a little more clarity and left the gym feeling more at ease with my circumstances.

What I learned this week is that silence is not always a lack of noise in the natural but a spiritual calm despite the noisy world around you.  It is in these moments that we are able to hear that “still small voice” of God.

We do not need to be in a church or sitting quietly at home to meet God in that silence. Because of the sacrifice of Jesus on the cross, the veil has been torn, and God is accessible to us at all times. (Matthew 27:51 NKJV)   He will meet you right where you are, as you are; even if that means He needs to take out a gym membership!

As it turns out, it was a good week after all.  I gained clarity and muscle and I lost the heaviness on my heart, along with some excess weight.

So, if you are in need of an exceptional Personal Trainer, please let me know.  I will be happy to introduce you to The One I encountered this week at the gym.

6 thoughts on “My Encounter at the Gym

  1. Well said Mary. He is our comfort and clarity amid a crazy world! In my case and probably most folks, a crazy schedule with too much to do. Thanks for being so publicly honest. 😌

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Encounter at the Gym – the flying dutchman

Leave a Reply

