Move Over Geek Squad

“But even before I was born, God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace. Then it pleased him to reveal his Son to me so that I would proclaim the Good News about Jesus to the Gentiles.  When this happened, I did not rush out to consult with any human being. Nor did I go up to Jerusalem to consult with those who were apostles before I was. Instead, I went away into Arabia, and later I returned to the city of Damascus.”~ Galatians 1: 15-17 (NLT)

 

This past Monday, I went to turn on my laptop and, lo and behold, the thing wouldn’t turn on.  It was getting power, but would not boot up and the screen was black.  My thoughts, in the order they occurred:

“Well, this is just great! I can’t afford a new computer right now.”

“Oh no! How am I going to write my blog this week?”

“Eric…come here, please! Mom needs you!”

“Thanks for trying, Eric. I’m going to call your father.”

After multiple unsuccessful troubleshooting attempts over the phone with Eric’s father, he offered to pick my computer up the following night and take it home to work on.  On that note I went to sleep.

Tuesday’s thoughts in the order they occurred:

“I’m going to search Google on my phone and try to troubleshoot this on my own.”

“Best Buy is only a half a mile from here.  Maybe I should just run over and have the Geek Squad check it out.”

23794f981bb872589f7ba1300a6f01ae

Original image source unverifiable

This blog is my ministry, my way of serving the Lord and encouraging His people, and I take it very seriously.  My mind drifted back to a repeat of the earlier thought on how I was going to write this week. Immediately, the light bulb went on in my head!

 

“I need to pray! How did I not think to pray?!”

“Hi, God. It’s me.  You are the Creator of the Universe and ALL things are under your control.  That includes my laptop.  I know that you came to earth as the Son of a carpenter, but I could really use some tech support to get this laptop powered up again.  I love encouraging your people and sharing your Word in my blog.  I can’t serve you in that way without a computer.  In Jesus precious name, I command this laptop to be restored to working order. Amen.”

I hit the power button and, since you are currently reading my weekly blog, you know how this story ended…my laptop powered right up and works perfectly!  Praise God for answered prayer!  He is so good!

In Paul’s letter to the Galatians, he tells us that when God chose to reveal His Son to him, that Paul did not rush out to consult with other human beings.  While it is not specifically known why Paul went to Arabia, some scholars believe that Paul went to there to receive revelations from Jesus Christ.  Whatever the reason, it is clear in this Scripture that Paul did not immediately seek human wisdom on the matter.

The predicament with my laptop caused me to pause and think about how we approach our problems in this life.  We immediately search the internet for answers or we reach out to those in our inner circle (who, in turn, probably search the internet! 🙂 )  Only when those sources don’t bring us the results we hope for, do we seek God.

We have it all backwards!  God is the answer, not the last resort.  There is no problem too large for Him to remedy, no trouble too small for Him to care about…and no computer too complicated to repair!

Those guys at the Geek Squad may need to start looking for new jobs.

Leave a Reply

