Choices, Compromise and Consequences

 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. 

Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” ~Proverbs 3:3-6 (NLT)

 

I’ve been going to the gym on a regular basis for a few months now. While I am overweight, my motivation is not necessarily to lose weight, but to become stronger and healthier.

Last year I had a doctor tell me (“with all due respect!”) that I was the weakest patient he has ever treated and that if I didn’t do something about it, I was facing double knee replacement in the next five years. I haven’t even reached my 50th birthday yet, so, yeah, that kind of rattled me!

1661101177-make-good-choices-today-so-you-dont-have-regrets-tomorrow-quote-1I did not go to sleep thin and fit one night and wake up the next morning as an overweight weakling. It happened one slice of cheesecake, one evening on the couch, at a time. We can also become weak and unhealthy in other areas of our lives in the same manner…one decision, one compromise, at a time.

I did not acquire my excess weight enjoying dessert with one meal. I did not arrive in credit card hell with one financial transaction.  I did not become a regular non-attendee by missing one church service.  All of these things happened gradually, almost going unnoticed, until I arrived where I do not want to be today -physically, financially and spiritually.

It was never my intention to make concessions with my health, my financial wellbeing or my relationship with my church family. The decline in each one of these areas of my life began small and snowballed.  Make no mistake, the choices and compromises we make today have a cumulative effect!

The Bible is filled with stories of people who made some pretty bad choices. (Adam and Eve or the folks who wouldn’t listen to Noah for example!) We all make poor choices from time to time. In a moment of weakness, we compromise our values and forget who we are and what we stand for.  We forget that we want to be healthy, or financially secure, or spiritually strong, and a simple thought or emotion leads us to act in ways that counter our goals and values.

The choices we make today may not seem significant, but viewed in the big picture, when they pile up one on top of the other, they can change the trajectory of our lives. While we can’t always undo the choices we made yesterday, we can, through the power of God, make wise choices today that will put us back on the right path. (James 1:5 NLT)

The wonderful thing for all of us is that God’s mercies are new each day! With every sunrise we are given a fresh start and a chance to change the course of our lives.  What a blessing!  Praise God!

If you are not happy with your present circumstances, remember that they were created, in part, by choices that you made days, weeks, months and even years ago.

Every choice has consequences, good or bad, and every choice matters.  Choose wisely.

6 thoughts on “Choices, Compromise and Consequences

  1. Mary…your truth, honesty and transparency is simply beautiful! These words of wisdom are to be nestled in our hearts and wrestled in our minds continually! Bless you sister! I love you and miss you……..Lisa Moyer

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

