The T-Shirt

“As Jesus and the disciples continued on their way to Jerusalem, they came to a certain village where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home.  Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he taught. But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.” But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”~Luke 10:38-42 (NLT)

I was chatting with God earlier this evening, while working out at the gym, wondering why He had not yet given me a topic for this week’s blog. I was “in the zone,” not really paying attention to my surroundings, when I was distracted by someone getting on the machine directly in front of me.

I immediately noticed the back of her t-shirt and couldn’t help but smile.

Shirt

In the scripture verse above, Lazarus’ sisters, Martha and Mary, had received a visit from Jesus. Mary sat down at His feet and listened to His teachings, while Martha prepared dinner.  At some point during the visit, Martha sought Jesus’ assistance in getting her sister to help her with dinner.  I’m sure Martha was not very happy with Jesus’ response.

Jesus did not tell Mary to leave His company and go help her sister. He, instead, reminded Martha of the priorities at hand.  Mary and Martha both loved Jesus dearly, and both were serving Him, however, Mary knew what was most important.

I didn’t hear God speaking to me this week, because my priorities were out of whack. That doesn’t mean that I spent the week wasting my time.  I was at my job 40 hours,  worked out several times, volunteered at the food pantry and was a mom.  These are all worthwhile, godly activities.

I am a single mother who worked to provide for my family (1 Timothy 5:8 NLT);  I took care of my body (1 Corinthians 6:19-20 NLT); I served the poor (James 2:14-17 NLT) and spent quality time with my son (Deuteronomy 11:19 NLT)  All of these activities are pleasing to God.

The issue is not with what I was doing, but the fact that all of these activities combined together, and made little time where God was my first priority. Although my name is Mary, I defintely behaved more like Martha this past week!

I am grateful for the reminder that God comes before all else and I just love that God knows me so well that He reminded me in such a bold way!

God knows exactly what we need to hear and how we need to receive the message.  Sometimes He whispers, sometimes He shouts, and tonight, He displayed it on the t-shirt of a sister in Christ!

*As it turns out, the young lady I met at the gym, Mary Lou, designs Christian clothing. She grew up in the church I now attend and I serve on food pantry with her aunt.  It really is such a small world! Mary Lou does not have a public website for her Christian clothing but I will definitely pass it along should she ever get one.

Leave a Reply

