Be Still

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” ~ Exodus 14:14 (NIV)

 

While driving to Maryland a few weeks ago, my son, Eric, and I made a pit stop at a convenience store.  I hadn’t eaten lunch and wanted to get a snack to tide me over until we made it to the hotel.  I walked around the store, through aisles of salty snacks and sugary treats, before purchasing my snack and heading back to the car.

As I sat in my car, eating the banana I had just purchased it suddenly struck me that, well, I bought a banana!  With all the snacks I could have purchased in this snacker’s paradise, I bought fruit.  The funny thing is I don’t really remember coming to the decision to buy it!

I immediately knew who deserved credit for my smart choice…God.  You see, as I have mentioned in previous blogs, food has, at times in my life, been my arch nemesis.  I struggled with binge eating disorder for many years (see Eat the Apple, Sister) until I turned it over to God and stopped trying to “fix” myself.

736765e5cb67d36317db62f24ff25c3dGod removed the obsession from my mind, got me excited about exercise, and it has not been a problem since.  It’s amazing what can happen in your life when you leave your problems at the foot of the Cross!

But, you see, the thing about that is that we are flawed.  We think we can (and should) handle life on our own, so we go back to the Cross and pick up what we left there for God to handle.

My eating this week was atrocious and I only made it to the gym once.  I was very frustrated until I prayed about it and realized what I had done.  I took my problem out of God’s capable hands and tried (unsuccessfully!) to handle it on my own.

I started counting calories and planning every morsel I would eat a day in advance.  I took my focus off God and put it back on my problem.  I gave fuel to the enemy and his schemes.  I allowed myself to be deceived into thinking I could do a better job controlling my eating issues than God could.

When Moses was leading the Israelites out of Egypt, he told them to stand firm because the Lord will fight for them.  All they needed to do was “be still” and allow God’s mighty power to deliver them.  We know how that turned out…40 years wandering in the wilderness!

We are human beings who struggle with the sin of pride.  We have a tendency to believe that we can handle our problems better than God can.  It is difficult for us to just “be still” and let God fight for us but that is the only way to live victoriously and not wander aimlessly through life.

Whatever your struggle, let go and let God. Leave your burdens at the foot of the Cross and walk away!  In fact, run and don’t look back!  Then, be still.

 

Leave a Reply

