Wrestling with God

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”~ Jeremiah 29:11

Getting a drivers license is a rite of passage for every teenager.  Shortly before my 16th birthday, my parents took me to our family doctor to get a physical, which was required by the DMV prior to issuing a driving permit.  As my physical was finishing up, the doctor said words that sparked fear in my teenage heart.  I needed a booster shot on one of my immunizations.  A needle!  I was terrified of needles! No way was that going to happen, if I had my way!

As it turns out, I did not have my way.  The doctor literally had to put me in a headlock while the nurse gave me the injection.  And my mom?  Well, she just stood there and let it happen!

I’ve been considering making some changes in my life and have spent a great deal of time in prayer over these matters.  I know what God wants me to do and it’s the opposite of what I want.  So, how do I respond to that?  By having a tantrum like a 2-year old who isn’t getting her way (or a 16 year old afraid of needles!)

Clearly, I need to be placed in a holy headlock!

change-our-situationI grew up learning about God, but for the first 40 years of my life, I made all of my decisions without Him.  That has left me a twice-divorced woman trapped in a career I would not choose if I had a do-over, living in credit card hell, with no immediate relief in sight.  Yeah, leaving God out of my decisions was not such a good plan after all.

I am grateful that he has taken the mud and muck of my life and is using it for His good.  (Romans 8:28 NLT)  I am able to use the trials and challenges of my life to help others facing similar situations.  All that said, I think my life would be significantly different had I included God in my decision making, rather than relying on Him to clean up after me.  But, praise God that He can make beauty from ashes! (Isaiah 61:3 NLT)

As far as my current situation, I will be obedient and will not make a move in my life unless He clearly guides me to do so.  I realize that may leave my life circumstance right where it is for a while longer.  I continue to pray that He change my heart to align my desires with His will.

My mom allowed the doctor to torture me 🙂 because she knew what was best for me.  In the same way, everything that God calls us to do is always for our ultimate good and to bring Him glory.  We may not understand His way, but with each act of obedience on our part, our trust in Him will continue to grow.

It is my prayer for all of you that you trust Him even when you don’t understand; that you are obedient to Him, even when you don’t like His answer.  Trust and obedience are much more pleasant than wrestling with God; and the outcome will always be in your favor.

Leave a Reply

