A Lesson in Mercy

“The faithful love of the Lord never ends!  His mercies never cease.  Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.” ~ Lamentations 3:22-23 (NLT)

While most people were out shopping this Black Friday, I chose to use my day off work to run errands and take care of some business that I cannot normally get to during the week.  One of those matters was to close out an account at the bank and deposit the funds at my credit union.  I left the bank with a check for the balance of my account and immediately went to the credit union to deposit the funds.

I was back home for only a few minutes when my phone rang.  It was the man from the bank, John, informing me that he gave me the wrong check and that I needed to return to the bank.  I advised him that I had already deposited the check at my credit union and was told that the check would not clear because it was an internal ledger something or other, not an actual check.

traffic-stressDuring my brief interaction with John earlier, I learned that he was new at his job.  In fact, after 20 years in the hospitality industry, this was an entirely new career for him.  I fought back the urge to be annoyed, understanding that we all make mistakes, and kindly told him that I would head right back over to the bank.

I live in an apartment complex that is surrounded by a mall, restaurants and other shopping…lots of shopping.  Black Friday traffic is a nightmare.  Also, in the two miles between my residence and the bank is an arena.  It just so happens that the Trans- Siberian Orchestra had its Christmas shows there today, adding to the traffic nightmare.

I left my apartment, with a heart full of mercy toward John.  A half hour and two miles later that mercy had started to wane. God quickly reminded me of His never-ending mercy towards me, which was just want I needed on my heart and in my mind.  God is so good like that!

After getting things straightened out with John at the bank, I headed back into traffic to go to the credit union and resolve things there.  I drove back past the arena and the mall to the credit union, which is about a quarter mile from my apartment in the other direction.  It took another half hour but I used that time to thank God for his mercy toward me and His timely reminder of that gift.

I have learned in this life that I will never be asked to forgive someone more than God has already forgiven me.  I am certainly not worthy of such mercy, yet God continually pours it out on me.

John’s mistake may have cost me an hour of my time but how much more did my sinfulness cost Jesus?

I pray that we are all mindful of God’s mercy in our own lives, so that we can pay it forward to those with whom we interact in the hectic days ahead.

 

Leave a Reply

